A New Beginning

Sometimes a girl needs a fresh start.  A clean slate.  A brand new blog.

All things considered, it’s definitely cheaper than a new car or a new wardrobe or whatever it is a woman is supposed to do for her mid-life crisis.

I mean, not that I am having a mid-life crisis.  Not right this second, anyway.  There was a bit of one two years ago when my daughter went to college (Three years early.  I feel compelled to throw that in, not to brag on her, but to clarify that I am not that old.)  And I reserve the right to have a bout of angst any ol’ time I want, but I’m just not in the mood right now.  You understand.

Anyway.  So not the point.

The point is, this isn’t my first blog.  I’ll been around the mommy/adoptive blog-o-verse for a good seven-ish years now, and chances are if you adopted from Vietnam, you recognize me.  It was a good run.  But like I said, I was in the mood for a fresh start.  Also, I kind of wanted to re-frame the conversation.  Maybe it is the mid-life thing, but I find myself stepping back and saying “Who am I?  What do I want to say?  Who do I want to say it to?”

I’m still figuring it out.

In the meantime, I’m glad you’re here, and I hope you’ll come back.  My favorite part of blogging is the conversations I share with my readers – many who become friends.  And since you’re probably wondering about that blog name, let me leave you with this quote from Jan Karon’s Patches of Godlight .  Something about it struck a chord with me.  Maybe it will do the same for you.

Never has the world had a greater need for love than in our day.  People are hungry for love.  We don’t have time to stop and smile at each other.  We are all in such a hurry!  Pray.  Ask for the necessary grace.  Pray to be able to understand how much Jesus loved us, so that you can love others.

– Mother Teresa

2 thoughts on “A New Beginning

  1. I’m glad you’re back too! You’ve always had such a thoughtful, transparent way of expressing yourself and drawing your readers in to your life and family – even though most of us don’t really know you at all. I’m looking forward to reading more!

Leave a Reply

