Everything Else

Whew. That series of posts took a lot out of me. Also, it was very serious. Which makes it hard to be like Wheee… check out my cute kittah! Or, y’know, whatever.

Since I brought her up, it's only right to post a photo.
Since I brought her up, it’s only right to post a photo.
Look at my cute kittah!
Or two. Look at my cute kittah!

I absolutely rock at transitions.

So guess what I did this morning.

No really, guess!

Nevermind, you’re never going to guess.

I signed up for an online writing class. At Stanford . Continuing Studies. Ahem. (Saying “Stanford” sounds all awesome, until you realize that literally ANYONE with a highschool diploma and a credit card can sign up for one of their Continuing Studies classes. But I might buy myself a sweatshirt anyways.)

And that should tell you all you need to know about how I did with that Great Courses class. So far I’ve read one of the Great Classics for that course. And I didn’t read it all the way through. What? It was Moll Flanders. Have you ever read Moll Flanders all the way through? It’s good, and interesting… and Very Repetitive. That woman gets married a lot of times. And has a lot of kids. And then she has a life of crime. The devil makes her do it. And she almost gets caught. Over and over. Blah blah blah.

It was a good book, really, you should read it.

I don’t blame the Great Course, I blame me. I have pretty much zilch in the discipline department. And even though I told myself that reading classic novels was important and good to do, it still felt like lounging around to be sitting on my couch reading a book all morning. Hopefully I shan’t suffer the same difficulties when I have an actual live Professor and Assignments and even (gasp!) GRADES.

I’m a little scared.

Okay, I’m a lot scared.

What if I suck at it?

But then, the name of the course is Facing the Void: An Introduction to Creative Writing … so clearly the bar of expectations can’t be set too high, right?

Speaking of Facing The Void, what the heck was I thinking titling this post “Everything Else”? Over ambitious much? Sheesh.

Yeah there’s no way I’m going to cover “everything” in this post. That would be ridiculous. I’ll just leave you with this quote, which though it is from a book on marriage, did much to boost the way I feel about myself as a parent.

“If you have a child, you will find that the Biblical pattern of love is forced on you. Your new child is the neediest human being you have ever met. She needs your care every second of the day, twenty-four hours a day, seven days a week. You make enormous sacrifices in your life, and yet the child, for a very long time, gives you nothing in return. And, while later the child can give you love and respect, never does she give you anything like what you have given her. Often older children go through long stretches during which they rebel and fall apart and need enormous investment from you and again give you nothing in return. But at every turn, whether or not they are giving to you, you give to them.
After eighteen years of this, even if your child is an unattractive person to everyone else, you can’t help but love her dearly. Why? Because you’ve been forced to operate on the Biblical pattern. You have had to do the actions of love regardless of your feelings and therefore now you have deep feelings of love for your child, however lovable she is or not.”
The Meaning of Marriage, Timothy Keller

Why this quote? Let’s just say that maybe the pronoun isn’t necessarily “she” and that maybe sometimes it’s possible that parenting a child who is very unlike yourself can prove to be rather challenging. And we’ll leave it there.

2 thoughts on “Everything Else

  1. First, I’m soOOoo proud of you! You’e going to do great in that class. And, heck yeah, totally buy the sweatshirt. You’re a Stanford student, baby! Second… Love that quote. I may have to steal it and repost to fb. I was just saying something very similar the other day about mothering my own kids (but it sounded way more whiny and much less wise coming out of my mouth). Thanks for sharing that!

    1. Thanks Michelle! I’ll be even more proud if I actually make it through the class. 🙂
      Steal away! I love Tim Keller. I swear I’d read anything he wrote, even if it was the phone book. (if he could find a way to make the phone book theological and interesting, well, that would be quite an achievement, wouldn’t it?)

Leave a Reply

